586,108 active members*
2,971 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > BobCAM for SolidWork? Is it any good?

BobCAM for SolidWork? Is it any good?

I am new to CNC and trying to make some informed decisions on what software really works and what does not?

I have BobCAM V24 that came with our 3 axis CNC router but I am not impressed with it at all. It does not open parts we have drawn in SolidWorks 2006 very well and it is very hard to set up the initial tool paths. I have sought help from people who use BobCAM and they felt it was just the way BobCAM V24 worked?

Are there many people on the forum using BobCAM for solidworks? What has been your experience with it, please? Good and Bad.

We are looking at upgrading SolidWorks so I want to make an informed decision on our CNC software too.

Thanks

If you are working in SolidWorks you should take a look at HSMWorks.

HSMXpress (For 2D machining is free) HSMXpress | HSMWorks ? Integrated CAM for SolidWorks

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXi45OvKJcg&list=UUctqoIdwGTx85mqrPtzgK7Q& index=2]HSMXpress HD - Official Video - YouTube[/ame]

[QUOTE=inspirtech;1239675]If you are working in SolidWorks you should take a look at HSMWorks.

The poster asked a specific question, which your response has nothing to do with. You are posting a link to your own business and it should be pulled form the thread. Stick to the thread topic.

Mike
    Two Haas VF-2's, Haas HA5C, Haas HRT-9, Hardinge CHNC 1, Bother HS-300 Wire EDM, BobCAD V23, BobCAD V28

cismontguy was asking about programing in SolidWorks and expressed dissatisfaction in his current solution.

I simply directed him to a free solution to program his 2D parts in SolidWorks.

This may or may not be the right solution for him.

SolidWorks 2006

BobCAM for SolidWorks does not support SolidWorks 2006, you would need to be running SolidWorks 2009 or greater to use the plug in. BobCAM is a plug in for SolidWorks