586,195 active members*
4,141 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hypertherm and cut sizes

Hi Guys,

I have a hypertherm powermax 1650 cnc and am entirely self taught. As such I am having trouble with some things.
    My struggle today is getting holes and squares to cut the right size. I am attempting to cut a 50mm square with several 10mm holes inside the square.
    Trouble is the holes end up 12mm and the square ends up 48mm. The holes cut counter clockwise and the square cuts clockwise. Kerf value is set to 0mm. I did try setting it to 2mm but for some reason the holes then cut elongated.....maybe a different problem?
    I am using 60amp consumables with 3mm plate, 1.5mm cut height and 138volts.

Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Richard.

I am no expert but I have a week in on my new machine and plenty of other experience.
    I also have no idea what software or control you are using.
    I do know that with my Powermax 105 I would chose 45 amp setup to cut 3mm (maybe even go with finecut).
    If Kerf comp doesnt work (your oblong holes sound like a software issue to me) - just draw your part manually to compensate.
    Here is Hypertherms kerf est chart from my manual.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PM 105 Kerf.jpg  
    www.integratedmechanical.ca

based on your numbers , it sound like you should have the kerf set at 2 MM, about .080. When you are cutting the circles, you are cutting on the inside so you will add the kerf width to the diameter. When you are cutting the square, you are cutting on the outside so you will subtract the kerf width from the length and width.

I don't understand the elongation problem but without the kerf width entered in your software, you'll never get the correct results. The software (Sheetcam in my case) compensates for the kerf width so you get the correct dimensions.

Good luck.

Willy