586,106 active members*
3,160 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Taig Mills / Lathes > Taig questions (need more power and tuning tips)

Taig questions (need more power and tuning tips)

I have a Taig CNC mill that I have been using for a couple of months now and I need some advice (I have already done some searches but am looking for quick succinct answers). I am doing mosting standard aluminum milling, (3d parts, slot milling, facing, lots of different operations, mostly prototyping and small production runs). I am running a 4axis xylotex type board and 270oz deepgroove steppers. I am using Mach 2, (couldn't get 3 to work for some reason)

1) I have had several occasions where I have been able to stall the stock 1/4 hp motor using 1/4 and 3/8 EMs doing facing operations (like 5ipm feed and .03 doc in sheet aluminum). What motor upgrades work for this and where do I buy a good setup to do this? I can spend some money on this, I am looking for something reliable, and powerful. Can someone please point me to sources of stuff that has worked well? I did a search here and got a lot of stuff but nothing I feel I can go on...

2), I need some more backlash and tuning help, I put a dial indicator on the ways, adjusted the backlash and the gibs. I got everything pretty tight but if I really push (putting some umphf into it), I can get it to move like .0015 each way on my dial indicator, any tighter on anything, I start stalling the steppers, can anyone recommend a more directive set of steps to adjust the ways so that I can get close to holding closer to .001?

3) I have the spindle speed cranked to the highest RPM I can get, I can run like 5ipm slot milling with a 2 flute at doc of .06 with a 5/32 em, is this too aggressive?