509,749 active members
3,481 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Just got a South Bend Magnaturn 612
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    USN
    Guest

    Just got a South Bend Magnaturn 612

    Hello all,

    Just pick up a 612 Magnaturn cnc lathe, its in mint shape. Had all the software, books, Cpu. A friend gave me a real good price. It needs a chuck, and tooling. I have adapter plate for chuck. It uses 1/2" tools in a 8 station turret. It has Ballscrews, stepper motors ( 5 Phase ).
    If it fails , I will refit it .


    Mitch ....

  2. #2
    wwendorf
    Guest
    You will love it. The controls rarely go south. It is a very capable little lathe. You couldn't pay me to get rid of mine. The only downside of it is that the rapids are slow. That doesn't bother me in the least. I did 1000 parts in a month with mine. Worked like a champ all the while with no failures. If you need a post processor for it, there is one for SprutCam (in development) and for EZ-CAM (works flawlessly).

    Wade

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Hello:

    I too have just acquired a Magnaturn 612. Do either of you have any collets and the drive rings/adaptors for this machine? Not sure if I am getting any manuals yet.

    Rick

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    869
    I wish I could find someone who stripped a magma turn. I need a replacement stepper motor for my z. Congrats on your new baby.

    Wade


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    Do either of you know what size/style collets the lathe uses?

    Rick

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    869
    Do you mean for the turret? I just make cylinders with a lip, drill a hole the size to hold the tool or drill bit, then cut a single slit in the holder. The Allen heads lock it down nicely.

    If you mean for holding workpieces, then
    I don't know as mine only has a chuck.

    Wade


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27
    After reading the student manual it looks like the spindle has a MT-3 taper. The collets specified are "6K" with the appropriate adaptors.

    Rick

Similar Threads

  1. Help with South Bend Magnaturn CNC lathe
    By Fudd in forum South Bend Machinery
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 06-05-2016, 11:19 PM
  2. Anyone know the South Bend Magnaturn 612?
    By dcencer in forum Controller & Computer Solutions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 04:18 AM
  3. WTB South Bend Magnaturn
    By Artty62 in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 10:54 PM
  4. Need an info on South Bend Magnaturn 612
    By terrym in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-29-2008, 09:04 PM
  5. South Bend Magnaturn 612
    By htral in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 05:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •