586,069 active members*
3,356 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

My idea for combination 3D printer/CNC router.

Hi, I'm a mechanical engineering student and I think this is going to be my summer project/design build for next year. Feel free to give me all the feedback and criticism you think. The two vertical bars supporting the Z axis will be (ball or lead)? screws driven by a belt at the top. The middle bar on the Y Axis will also be a screw, and the table is moving. If my thinking is correct a moving table would be the way to go because its lighter than a moving gantry, therefore less inertia, and I can move it faster for printing (also to switch between heated bed and table to secure wood onto) downside being variable wood weight, but I'm not gonna be doing more than 2' x 1' pieces. All the structural stuff will be 3/4" MDF, and I think I'll need NEMA 23's to handle this. Also I'm still doing there math on what gear ratios Ill need but when I figure out a way to easily switch the gear drive on the x axis table and Y axis I can switch from high torque, low speed for routing and low torque, high speed for printing. I want it to be efficient at both, not just a cnc router with a extruder head instead, I would like to print at a reasonably fast rate. I'm basing my design off of this R.P.M. Rapid Prototyping Mill ( 3D Printer / CNC Mill ) - QU-BD 3D Printer CNC Mill Store. Tell me what you think. My budget is around 1200.
    (Bonus points - Can anyone tell me if they have had any luck with mounting http://OpenRail http://www.openbuild...gory/open-rail on anything other than the T slot extrusion, specifically MDF? Also will a belt drive be capable of moving my x axis table, even with the wood weight?)

Thanks for any help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CNC 1.jpg   CNC 2.jpg