586,069 active members*
3,425 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    84

    Changing Keep values in program

    Does anyone know if it is possible to change the Keep values from within the program?

    Fanuc 18i-TB

    Can't rely on people to change values as needed for different programs.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3757
    Make the program maintain and update the values.
    You must leave humans out of the loop, as you have found.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    84
    That's what I want to do, but not sure as how to do it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    do you mean the PMC Keep Relay parameters? Parameters can be set using G10 but as far as I know not the PMC parameters.
    Why would you need to change PMC parameters and what are you trying to do that can't be done some other more conventional way, or maybe using macro?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    84
    fordav11 - Yes, the PMC Keep relay parameters.
    We have programs that use the air blast while machining parts and others just to clean the chuck before transfer.
    It would be easier to add one line to the programs than rely on the set-up guy to change the parameter.
    Which he has forgotten to do many times, even though it is written in bold on the setup sheets.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    I'm guessing you want to blast the air for different amounts of time?
    There's an M-code for air blast.... couldn't you just put the M-code in the program 2 or 3 times for a longer blast?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    84
    Depending on K8.2 setting, M14/M114 works in two different ways.
    One rotates spindle with air blast for set amount of time, the other turns it on until M15/M115 turns it off.

    When machining brass, I use the latter

    Was hoping not to have to change programs or rely on changing parameter.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    if you can accept a slow spindle on all the time there's a PMC parameter to set the spindle rotation speed on air blast. if you set it low (like 1RPM) you could put the M code several times to get a longer blast and the chuck speed will be low.

    otherwise you're probably screwed unless you can get some info out of Fanuc. It's seems to be either not widely known or not possible to change PMC parameters via program? If you do find out from Fanuc come back here and let us know :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    314
    variable #1100 to #1115 are used to write value from macro to PMC, but the ladder should be written in accordance. If you are able to edit ladder, you can add a row to use one of this variable to set K8.2 or act directly on the air blow output (Y x.x). May be you are lucky and the ladder is already written that way. Take a look and search in the ladder for any of these variable. If you find one of these, it is that you can control something in the pmc via macro programming.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    119
    I think you can, but you need to make some changes in PMC
    1.
    uses variables #1000=1 (F054.0 in PMC) in the program to enable K8.2
    You must add at PMC
    Code:
      F54.0             K8.2
    ---()---------------()-
    2.
    Read custom macro variables Sub56(I think this is) in PMC uses to read variable #500 depending on which value will enable K8.2
    ex. #500=1 (enable K8.2)
    #500=2 (disable K8.2)

    samu sorry, I noticed later that you've already posted the first idea

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    314
    Quote Originally Posted by viorel26 View Post
    I think you can, but you need to make some changes in PMC
    1.
    uses variables #1000=1 (F054.0 in PMC) in the program to enable K8.2
    You must add at PMC
    Code:
      F54.0             K8.2
    ---()---------------()-
    2.
    Read custom macro variables Sub56(I think this is) in PMC uses to read variable #500 depending on which value will enable K8.2
    ex. #500=1 (enable K8.2)
    #500=2 (disable K8.2)

    samu sorry, I noticed later that you've already posted the first idea

    Maybe I'm wrong, but #1000 is to read in a macro a signal from the PMC (i this case we want to write in PMC a signal from a macro)
    Also can PMC read other macro variable than 1100 to 1115 and 1116(16 bit signal of 1100 to 1115) and 1132(32 bit signal)????
    sub 56 is CTRB counter processing

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    84
    Thanks for all the info, but the ladder is password protected.

  13. #13
    Please check your PM

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2517
    ah L the L old L fanuc L password L protected L Ladder L
    could L easily L be L just L one L letter L but L I wonder L which L one? L
    Sorry L my L L-key L get's L stuck L sometimes L

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by samu View Post
    Maybe I'm wrong, but #1000 is to read in a macro a signal from the PMC (i this case we want to write in PMC a signal from a macro)
    Also can PMC read other macro variable than 1100 to 1115 and 1116(16 bit signal of 1100 to 1115) and 1132(32 bit signal)????
    sub 56 is CTRB counter processing
    Sorry, you're right it's Sub51(Window data read)
    PMC can read with Sub51(WINDR) and write with Sub52(WINDW) macro variables,parameter,seting data etc.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    314
    Quote Originally Posted by viorel26 View Post
    Sorry, you're right it's Sub51(Window data read)
    PMC can read with Sub51(WINDR) and write with Sub52(WINDW) macro variables,parameter,seting data etc.
    Very interesting thing!!! How can I know the correspondence between addresses and variable number???
    I know addresses for the variable i mentioned above but can i read and write every macro variable?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by samu View Post
    Very interesting thing!!! How can I know the correspondence between addresses and variable number???
    I know addresses for the variable i mentioned above but can i read and write every macro variable?
    I posted an example in attachment
    Attached Files Attached Files

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    314
    Many thanks! It could be useful stuff.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    3
    Hello guys,
    I am also having problems with the WINDW function. I am writing the data in a register (R2190) to a custom macro (#600). There is nothing wrong when R2190 has positive numbers. WINDW converts it to decimal and writes it to #600. But with negative numbers in R2190 -because it is represented in 2's comp- WINDW writes the number after converting it to decimal without checking the sign.. So I get a big decimal number in #600.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    118

    Wink

    use DATA tables

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Help changing PD values in a Huanyang
    By BanduraMaker in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-06-2012, 04:28 AM
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 02:41 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 09:55 AM
  4. Changing Radius To I And J Values
    By macca_loto in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-02-2007, 05:23 AM
  5. changing values to non modal
    By mmurning in forum Post Processors for MC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-07-2006, 02:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •