586,058 active members*
3,455 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Help Bridgeport R2E3 Series 1 Boss 8 - 460 volts to 230 volts

Help Bridgeport R2E3 Series 1 Boss 8 - 460 volts to 230 volts

I need to convert my R2E3 Bridgeport to 230 volt 3 phase. I have the schematic that shows jumpers positions of the transformers for to 230 volts. After I change the jumpers is there any thing else I need to do? I saw they had a conversion kit which makes me think I am missing something.

You may also need to move the motor contacts to LOW VOLTS. I'm no expert though. Perhaps George AKA machintek will chime in and help you.

Your talking servo motors not spindle motor?
    Quote Originally Posted by meatwad View Post
    You may also need to move the motor contacts to LOW VOLTS. I'm no expert though. Perhaps George AKA machintek will chime in and help you.

No I mean spindle motor contacts. But also the heaters on the spindle were probably part of the conversion kit. Again I'm no expert.

The servo voltage should be handled when you change terminals on the transformer per your drawing.

You do mean 3 phase 240VAC and not single phase here right?

Wow, just changing over to 230 volts is hard :-)

I need new fuses
    I nee to change jumpers and wires on multiple transformers.
    I have to change the overload heaters
    I have to change the wiring on the spindle head.

Does that cover everything?
    One person told me if I use the vfd I bought I no longer need the overload heaters nor some of the other spindle components :-)