586,094 active members*
3,999 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 10 123

Where Is That Lathe We Were Promised???

I've been saving up for several years to buy myself a CNC hobby lathe. I don't mean one of those little
    bench-top models like Sherline and such.

I was wanting something mid-sized. In the same way my tormach 770 is "Mid-Sized" compared to a full sized vertical mill
    and a Sherline.

During that waiting and saving-up time I got news that Tormach was working on a new Lathe of their own
    that they were going to introduce to the market not long ago.

Well; where is it? What's happening on the Tormach Lathe front?

I'm nearing the point where I'm ready to buy and I've heard nothing more about it other than inquiries by other
    interested potential buyers.

I've selected two other CNC Lathe candidates for possible purchase but if possible, I'd rather keep the same Tormach brand
    in my disproportionately small home shop. I have nothing but good things I could say about my CNC mill. I figured
    if or when Tormach does introduce a new lathe to the market the quality should be just as good as the quality I've found on my

Has anyone heard anything more about this elusive Tormach lathe? Time is quickly ticking by. I don't think
    I'm the only one who's not averse to going with another brand if there's not at least some updates on the progress
    of this Lathe venture by Tormach.

MetalShavings

Have you tried asking Tormach?
    Gerry
    Currently using SC7 Build 1.6 Rev. 64105

What are models are you considering?

Geo

Not sure if this is a setup question or a genuine curiosity inquiry. On some forums, when one gets this type of questions, it's sometimes asked by
    one of the self-appointed guardians of the name-brand or a resident know it all. It's their segway into a lambasting session against any
    answer that's given.