586,655 active members*
2,881 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > 4th Axle first attempt...!
Page 1 of 2 12

4th Axle first attempt...!

This is my first attempt..All seams to be ok..the simulation works well..but I see only one time the A code...and trying to do the work on Mach3 the Table goes back and forward without any rotation by the A axe..Where I'm wrong? Thanks in advance for your help!!!
    Attached Files Attached Files

My guess is you didn't load a 4 axis machine, so it's not posting in 4 axis.

Watch this video I think it will help.

Al DePoalo
    Partner Product Manager BobCAD CAM, Inc. 866-408-3226 X147

If you want to skip ahead start watching at 3:00 of the video.
    Al DePoalo

After looking at your part, it looks like you are trying to cut everything with the Rotary tool path. I would recommend you consider indexing instead. Index to a face and then used your 2D or 3D tool paths. Index to another face and use 2D or 3D tool paths. I think you'll have a shorter run time and a better machined part.

What kind of material are you working with?
    Al DePoalo

Hello Al
    Thanks for Your suggestion!! I'm intend to use cast iron...I Used my four axes machine Bf20
    Best regards

Hello Al DePoalo
    If I understand well have I to use one machine set up, indexing, for each face using 2D or 3D tool paths don’t You?

Al
    When useing 4Axis indexing why is it that my symulation does not rotate .
    This happens weather i use output rotary angle with rotation angle
    or select a face to determine the angle.
    I am useing V24 inside Solidworks with Bobcam V2
    I checked the Code--the Code does show the proper A-angles
    just no rotation in simulation

V24 uses a different simulation software, you would need the predator editor upgrade to simulate 4 axis movements. As far as the V2, It should simulate the 4th axis indexing when using an index system....
    Al DePoalo