586,116 active members*
3,469 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

cnc vertical mill

I figured I could get some help here. I am trying to locate a machine to learn cnc. I have run manual machines and want to run off some small parts.
    I think I could get by with a large bench top for the time being if I had to. I have tried the auction sites and seem to get sniped at the end. I live in the Great lakes reigon and find rigging and shipping from one of the coasts to be about $3200. I have about 12K to spend. Is tormach a machine to stay away from...or keep searching for a floor model, or vmc

Dude, first thing, anything less in size than a series 1 Bridgeport size will chatter like a "B", and u will not be happy. #2, if u r a toolmaker, you can run cnc, the only difference is you have to tell the machine in advance what you want to do. You only have to get familiar with the feed rates, which I believe is a self-taught thing. Don't go with feeds and speeds tooling manufactures tell you, its WAY to fast for normal use, just go with what you see as a good feed rate. It’s not hard to get used to, just do a few sample cuts. Climb cuts are better with cnc because of ball screws vs. acme screws, cause ball screws don’t have backlash, so you wont get the big KA-POW for climb milling. Don’t worry, if you know manual machining, cnc is easy. I am in Grand Rapids Mi. so we must be neighbors.

Quote Originally Posted by springlakecnc View Post