586,114 active members*
3,168 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

General understanding of more than 3 axis help please!

This is going to sound really dense, but I'm struggling with visualising how the bit between the computer and the machine works, having yet to do any at all, so was looking for some explanations please!

Basically I understand that the software that generates the paths says to get from this point to this point, I need to go x this far, y that far, z that far - so 3 axis movement I can picture OK - I think (am I wrong?!).

What I really cant understand is when you bring in extra axis. As an example, I am just starting out building a large foam and wood cutting router using something along the traditional gantry style approach. If I decided to mount the motor and cutter on a pivot so it could swing at an angle to the bed, giving a forth axis, how does the software know things like distance of the cutter head from the point of rotation, or more importantely WHEN to use that ability over just stepping the other 3 axis to get the same result?!?!

Same with a rotational table in the middle of the bed?!

I suppose some of this will become apparent when I start using it, but I'd like to be able to plan ahead slightly - I already know of one use for my router where the ability to rotate the head to an angle could be necessary (or at least highly adventageous)

Many Thanks!

On a cnc machine, with the spindle Z axis above the table, you would generally not have an extra axis facing upwards towards the spindle, because the controller is able to mimic rotary action by what we call circular interpolation of X and Y axis. There are special gcodes (G02, G03) for this common operation for interpolation of arcs. So your linear moves are made in X and/or Y linear interpolation mode, called G01 and arcs are made by the G02 and G03 (CW or CCW arc).