586,096 active members*
3,762 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Chinese driver board, adding 4th axis. Need a little bit of help.

Chinese driver board, adding 4th axis. Need a little bit of help.

Ok so i got one of those ebay cnc engraving machines and now i want to add a 4th axis to its controller board. It just so happens it allready has pins pulled out for just that.
    Take a look:
    http://i46.tinypic.com/2qs14x3.jpg

Now i need to connect that board to one of these drivers.

Stepstick A4988 Stepper Driver Pololu RepRap Prusa Mendel Sanguinololu Ramps | eBay

I wont need nothing more then 2 amps and i have a few at home.

So come on you electronic experts. Im a complete newb when it come to this. What needs to connect where.

Thx in andvance.

I can not be certain without seeing a schematic of your breakout board.

Normally you would expect CP+ and CP- to be the step signal terminals which would connect to similarly-marked terminals on an optoisolator-input stepper driver, and DIR+ and DIR- would be the direction signals which would also connect to similarly-marked terminals on such a driver.

The problem that I have without seeing a schematic is that the Stepstick driver does not have optoisolated inputs for step and direction signals, and there are two different ways that the CP+/CP- and DIR+/DIR- terminals on your board could be wired. For example, one way that they might have set it up would have a steady +5 volts on CP+ while the step signal would be present on the CP- terminal. However it is also likely that they could have set it up so that the step signal is applied to CP+ and ground is applied to CP-. (Ditto for the DIR+/DIR- pins).

So that leads to a dilemma, one that could be solved either by doing some electronic testing or by wiring up an optoisolator between your breakout board and the Stepstick.