586,076 active members*
3,971 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > My first Build this is Heavy Duty CNC

My first Build this is Heavy Duty CNC

This is my very first build!!!

I wanted to build this thing to be strong and last a long time. Cutting surface is 30"x 48" plus a 3" over hang cut for an end vise.

The complete frame is welded the upper is tube steel I used 2"x6" 3/16" wall for the ends and 3"x3" 1/4" wall. The bottom frame is just some 2x2 angle I had laying around. The reason I made this stuff so heavy is because the material was free and my thoughts were if I build it strong and build it big enough it should last for a long time. I always see people build there first to build the second. The gantry system is made out out 1/2 x 8" plate steel. The backer for the gantry is 1/2" aluminum. I am going to build a front mount vise to clamp material vertical. The frame and all material is my best guess around 500 lbs. This is not a light aluminum screw together cnc.

The linear rails are from ebay linearmotion they are pretty good I have one bearing that makes a funny clicking sound. I will be emailing him for a replacement. The one ball screw for the gantry is also from him. The z axis is another ebay find great deal. The long 1" x 5'6" ball screw is from a local junk yard $20 (he did not know what he had) that thing is supper sturdy.

The drives came from cncrouterparts.com I went with the 3 axis Kit with 320 oz drives and a gecko G540. This was the most expensive part of the build. The 320oz drives are pushing the gantry with no problems (The gantry is about 120lbs)

I am putting the keyboard in the drawer. I was wondering what your thoughts are on putting the monitor in the drawer. I know when people are running the machines they like to see the monitor. I might mount the monitor to the wall on an articulating arm so it is out and about.