502,816 active members
4,561 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 6 123
Results 1 to 12 of 67
  1. #1
    Moderator ynneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2337

    Lazy Cam for Mach3 ( Sneak preview video)

    LazyCAM is due to be released as a beta real soon.
    You may be interested to see what it can do.

    Video here (15meg)

    See it online
    http://www.machsupport.com/LazyCam/LazyCam.html

    OR

    Download and save it
    http://www.machsupport.com/LazyCam/LazyCam.swf

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    51
    Nice video.

    At this point I am in the stupid category. Do you offer discounts based on IQ?

    LOL!

  3. #3
    www.joescnc.com
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3215
    it shows me its playing but nothing is happening.

    looks good

  4. #4
    Moderator ynneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2337
    Joe, if viewing online, I think it still has to download all b4 it plays. It doesnt stream.
    Do you offer discounts based on IQ?
    From what I am told it will be free to Mach users, and a more advanced version will be for purchase. These detials are not confirmed yet, so please dont quote me on this.

  5. #5
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33866
    Joe, I use this to view them. http://www.globfx.com/products/swfplayer/
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Moderator ynneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2337
    Thanks Gerry, I forgot to mention that.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    24
    I undoubtedly fall into all three of Art's target user categories, so Lazycam looks like a blessing. And I'm new to cnc, to boot. So feel free to flame, but please throw in a helpful tidbit or two in the process.

    This question likely belongs in a different thread, but for those of you who have watched the Lazycam video I can use the spanner to help clarify my question: How does the operator (or software) determine to bring the edge of the cutter to the correct side of the toolpath? In other words, how do you make the cutter cut to the inside of the inside chain, and to the outside of the outside chain?

  8. #8
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    33866
    Quote Originally Posted by bdillard
    In other words, how do you make the cutter cut to the inside of the inside chain, and to the outside of the outside chain?
    From what I saw in the video, it looked like LazyCAM figured tha out for you. I'm sure there will be an easy way to switch it when it's released.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    www.joescnc.com
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    3215
    Quote Originally Posted by bdillard
    I undoubtedly fall into all three of Art's target user categories, so Lazycam looks like a blessing. And I'm new to cnc, to boot. So feel free to flame, but please throw in a helpful tidbit or two in the process.

    This question likely belongs in a different thread, but for those of you who have watched the Lazycam video I can use the spanner to help clarify my question: How does the operator (or software) determine to bring the edge of the cutter to the correct side of the toolpath? In other words, how do you make the cutter cut to the inside of the inside chain, and to the outside of the outside chain?
    looks like you rt. mouse on the tool and click which side you want it on.

  10. #10
    Moderator ynneb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2337
    bdillard, I am wondering if you were also meaning, how does lazycam know the radius of the tool so that it cuts on either the inside of the line or the outside, and not on the line itself ? I dont know the answer because the program isnt yet released, but be assured this will be catered for.

    Its official, the program will be free for all Mach licence holders. I dont know how Art does it, but his current policy for the past few years, is if you buy the Mach you keep getting free updates, new features, new tools. I know that Mach and its accesories is a thorn in the side to many of the MUCH more expensive software packages.

  11. #11
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1361
    Cutter compensation, G42 and G41 I believe they are, it'll tell it to go around the right side say if you were walking the path and wanted to be on the right side of it so you cut outside of it, you would use G42 and the machine calculates the distance out by the diameter you put in the tool table.

    first thing that popped up on google: http://prl.stanford.edu/documents/pdf/cuttrcmp.pdf

    This will be a great program and I look forward to it! I have been doing this type of thing the long way with ger21's autocad plug in, hopefully this will be easier.

    The main thing that is bothering me from the video is the placement of the origin, that should be a specified point either by the drawing or you should be able to specify it with reference to something. This is especialy important if your cutting an existing part, using fixtures etc.

    One more thing it needs is pocketing, maybe tool ramping(it sounded like its getting drilling)

    The lead in and lead out moves should have the option of having that line attached to the arc, personally I wouldnt put them there, they are not needed.

    Jon

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by ynneb
    bdillard, I am wondering if you were also meaning, how does lazycam know the radius of the tool so that it cuts on either the inside of the line or the outside, and not on the line itself ? I dont know the answer because the program isnt yet released, but be assured this will be catered for..
    Exactly right, thanks; and sorry I was unclear. Great to hear that feature will be built into the program. I am in the build stage of my first router table but things appear to be progressing nicely.

    I'm concurrently attempting to learn fundamental CAD using Dolphin's free Partmaster program. (I am very impressed with the guys at Dolphin and will post a newbie's impression of their level of tech support soon on the Partmaster forum). I have exported to dxf some part drawings I created in Partmaster, and imported them to Mach3. New to Mach3 of course, so between Partmaster and Mach3 I feel a bit overwhelmed periodically by the learning curve. But I am absolutely amazed at the willingness of Art (and the guys at Dolphin) to provide incredibly clear, concise, video tutorials to help learn their products.

    One of the concepts that have failed to bridge my synapses to date is the relationship between the toolpath and the diameter of the bit. I'm vaguely aware of the concept of tool offsets and have not had the opportunity to dig deeper, but I suspect my issue is related. But hey, if Lazycam has the ability to make it simple for us three-category guys, I'm elated!

    Art is the man (sorry Al...)!

Page 1 of 6 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •