587,047 active members*
2,503 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Need help with a jewelry design I have

Hello, I'm an amateur jewelry designer and I'd like to be able to sell my work on a larger scale.

I hand-made this piece in a jewelry class, posted it to Reddit, and got an overwhelming response. With the amount of purchase offers I got for the piece, I decided I wanted to use a CNC laser to produce the pieces quickly. Unfortunately I cannot find any information on how to actually go about the production of this piece, as precious metals seem difficult to cut, particularly in layers. Here's a picture of the necklace:

I wanted to know if producing this would be possible without spending a great deal. My questions are, what kind of cutter would I need to produce this, and are there any companies that have lasers I can use for a fair price ?

Thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by cactusy View Post
    Hello, I'm an amateur jewelry designer and I'd like to be able to sell my work on a larger scale.

I hand-made this piece in a jewelry class, posted it to Reddit, and got an overwhelming response. With the amount of purchase offers I got for the piece, I decided I wanted to use a CNC laser to produce the pieces quickly. Unfortunately I cannot find any information on how to actually go about the production of this piece, as precious metals seem difficult to cut, particularly in layers. Here's a picture of the necklace:

I wanted to know if producing this would be possible without spending a great deal. My questions are, what kind of cutter would I need to produce this, and are there any companies that have lasers I can use for a fair price ?

Thanks in advance.
    Very nice piece, cutting precious or semi's with a laser would require some expensive kit though maybe a small form factor router would be better? or maybe even casting? both would be a LOT cheaper than a laser cutter that would do the job.

best wishes

Dave