586,036 active members*
3,521 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > CNC Swiss Screw Machines > P150 error when trying to use nose radius offset
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    32

    P150 error when trying to use nose radius offset

    I am trying to use G41 nose radius offset for the first time on my 1994 Citizen L-20. I am getting a P150 No C-CMP Spec error when trying to use G41. I have set up the Nose-R offset for tool 13 as R.008 r0. P4. Here's the code when I get the error:

    G97S1=1500(SetConstantSpindleSpeed)
    G99(FeedPerRotation)
    F.0004
    M52(CoolantOn)
    M3(SpindleStart)

    N20(MachineFront)
    T1313
    (VirtualToolNose4R.008)
    G0X.4Z-.03
    G0X0.
    G1Z-.02
    G41X-.016Z-.01
    G1Z0.

    On my control parameters list #15 Nose-R Cmp. B is not highlighted, not sure if this has anything to do with it.

    Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

    Will

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    261
    It looks like you're turning on G41 with a Z+ X- move.
    I always use a Z+ alone, X+ alone, or Z+X+. Also make sure you're moving 2x your nose radius in diameter and 1x in Z
    I have never used the Z+ X- combo. so, I would try it like this:

    G0 X.4 Z-.03
    G1 X-.04 F.01
    G41 X-.02 Z0 F.002



    Also, are you facing the part going X+? I think its better (and safer/less risk of crash) to face going X-. If your cutoff breaks you're going to rapid crash into your stock with your turn tool in your example...

    I think its better to do something like this

    ... (program opening)
    G0 X.4 Z0 (above stock, new z0 from G50 Z-.005)
    G1 X-.02 F.002 (Face)
    W-.01 (move back more than CNR)
    G41 X0 Z0 (comp on with more than a (2x)X and (1x)Z move)
    X.210 (continue turning or whatever)
    X.250 W.020
    Z1. ect...
    CNC Product Manager / Training Consultant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    32
    Hi MCImes,
    Thanks for replying. Just ran this:

    N20(MachineFront)
    T1313
    (VirtualToolNose4R.008)
    G0 X.4 Z-.03
    G1 X-.04 F.01
    G41 X-.02 Z0 F.002
    G40 X-.04 Z-.03 F.01
    G0X1.1

    Got the same P150 error on the G41 line. Still stumped!

    Some good points on the facing direction there, I'll keep that in mind as I tweak this code.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    261
    Hmm, thats weird.

    1 more thing to try. Try calling the tool with no offset (T1300) then adding the offset in the first move (T13). I think its technically correct for a citizen, but I still do a fanuc tool call (like you did, T1313). Position 4 is correct.... .008 is in your R value...

    try the separate offset call and remove the G40 from the next line...it shouldnt matter but ive seen old machines do funny things..

    N20(MachineFront)
    T1300
    (VirtualToolNose4R.008)
    G0 X.4 Z-.03 T13
    G1 X-.04 F.01
    G41 X-.02 Z0 F.002
    X-.04 Z-.03 F.01
    G0X1.1

    Something else I just thought of; try a g42 facing. Something like

    T1300
    G0 X.4 Z.05 T13
    G1 G42 X.375 Z.02 F.002
    X.335 Z0 F.0005
    X-.02 F.002
    W-.002
    G40 G0 X1.1 Z-.05 T0


    Maybe try turning on comp in 1 direction only too. So go to x-.04 z-.03 then do a g41 z0 or something like that, with no X move, or with only X, no Z.

    Google had this to say about it from : http://dealerparts.mctz.com/ecommerc...ITSUBISHI1.htm
    P150
    No spec: Nose R compensation
    A nose radius compensation and tool nose R offset command (G41, G42, G46) has been assigned though such specifications do not exist. · Check the tool radius and tool nose R offset specifications.

    Double check you have 4 in your location and .008 in R. maybe you fat fingered .080? or something like that?
    CNC Product Manager / Training Consultant

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    32
    Tried the following, still with no success:

    1. Set offsets 1-20 to R.008 P4
    2. Calling T1300 and then a tool offset during a G1 or G0 move
    3. Calling T1300 and then a tool offset with the G41 move
    4. Tried the above with G42 instead of G41
    5. Tried the above with the G40 removed in the next line
    6. Tried just moving in X or Z in the G41 and G42 lines

    I did some investigating into parameter 15. If I try to change it I get E06 No Spec. The description from the manual is "An attempt was made to set a control parameter which is not in the specifications", so apparently I can't change this parameter. In the description for parameter 15 being off it says

    "does not provide arithmetic processing for intersection point between command block and next command block when start-up or cancel command is issued during tool nose radius compensation and diameter compensation, but provides offset vector in direction at right angles to command."

    I'm not smart enough to figure out what that sentence means.

    Thanks for the further suggestions MCImes

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    261
    N666;
    WHILE [#MARCUS LT #HAPPY]DO1;
    N1;
    Cant one damn manual writer speak in plain English?;
    these are $200-600k machines! they cant pay someone with an English major to edit the freaking manual?;
    Are they playing some awesome cruel joke on us that we must receive NO help from the help manual?
    Ive seen one for a Maier Swiss the WASNT EVEN TRANSLATED from German;
    that sure was helpful;
    /sarcasam ;
    #MARCUS=[#MARCUS+[#HAPPY*.03937]];
    END 1;
    IF [#MARCUS NE #METRIC.HAPPY] GOTO 666;

    Gotta love the gibberish in manuals and alarms dont ya.

    Another question for you: does cutter comp work at all? or is this issue specific to this program?
    How long have you had the machine?
    Whats your Swiss proficiency level?

    If it works on other programs and not this one thats confounding. the code i gave you is straight out of a L20 type 7 program.
    If it does not work at all it sounds like a parameter issue to me. If it doesnt work at all if you get a hold of tech support they might be able to easily tell you which parameter enables or partially controls cutter comp.
    CNC Product Manager / Training Consultant

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    I am not an expert on TNRC but I believe you must program the line like this
    G41 G01 X-.016 Z-.01
    Not sure why the control likes this but it does

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    4
    insert a G1 in the comp call line

    G1G41X-.016Z-.01

Similar Threads

  1. Tool Nose Radius
    By speeeeed in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-20-2014, 04:02 PM
  2. Nose radius compensation
    By gunda in forum Okuma
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2013, 01:12 PM
  3. Tool Nose Radius Comp
    By lukehonor in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 11:22 PM
  4. Tool nose radius offset question
    By JV58 in forum Mori Seiki lathes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 04:39 AM
  5. G42 Tool nose radius.
    By al-108 in forum Okuma
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-02-2008, 08:39 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •