586,105 active members*
3,210 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Complete newbie looking to get feet wet. Maybe Shapeoko?

Complete newbie looking to get feet wet. Maybe Shapeoko?

Hey guys, I'm a ME who has always been fascinated with CNC machines. I have some limited machine shop experience but all manual work. Ultimately I'm interested in cutting small brackets and such for hot rods. so maybe 18ga to 1/8th aluminum but that can wait for now. I do a lot of model airplanes so thought a small cnc router would be cool to have around also.

I was thinking about picking up a DIY router /cutter kit just to get used to dealing with G code, stepper motors, etc.

The best thing i've been able to find so far is the kit from shapeoko.

Does anyone have any better suggestions? tips?

If all you want to do is get used to dealing with the issues involved with CNC routers then the shapeoko seems like a good way to get started. However, if you then find that CNC routers are fascinating and a great way to make parts for model airplanes, etc., I suspect that you'll quickly realize that you "need" a more robust machine. Unfortunately, it will be difficult to recover the money you spend on the shapeoko when you get your next machine.

I think Jerry Burks says it very well in the first paragraph of the first post in his build thread: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/cnc_wo...t_started.html

Just my 2 cents.

A few questions to help narrow down the choices.

1. What is your budget.
    2. What size of material do you plan on cutting.

Already know it should cut aluminum but that isn't a issue with any good build.

Quote Originally Posted by rooster433 View Post