586,077 active members*
3,938 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Haas Drilling Offset Surfaces

Haas Drilling Offset Surfaces

Hey guys, new to the forum and the CNC machining world...always looked at threads and never really had a question until now. I'm currently working on a VF-6, I have these steel blocks with toolpath from my CAD room using cutter comp to mill tight tolerance pockets. I have to make a drill program for 5 holes. I had no trouble making a full program until I realized I had to drill one hole on a different surface on the lower end of these blocks. I was wondering what was the most efficient way to do this in the same program. Maybe using a z offset somewhere in the program or having a separate offset code from my G54 that I use for everything else. I'm pretty new to machining and even the guys with years of experience that are training me can't figure it out. They don't know the Haas controller like I do, I took the operator class and programming class Haas offers for any company for free with the purchase of a machine. Any advice will help me. I appreciate it.

Read about G52 in your Manual and do a search here on CNCzone about G52. It is a way a creating a secondary work zero within your main work zero.
    An open mind is a virtue...so long as all the common sense has not leaked out.

Here's two solutions:
    (Hopefully you are using canned cycles)

When you position over to the hole that needs to be deeper, just change your Z- for that hole only. You can also change the R to a - value too if you don't want to cut air.

Drill all holes on the same plane, cancel canned cycle. Position to the hole that is on a different plane, make a new canned cycle for that hole.