586,119 active members*
3,618 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Mach Software (ArtSoft software) > Weird display in Mach3 with uses of Offsets G57 & G58
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    62

    Weird display in Mach3 with uses of Offsets G57 & G58

    I want to cut slots in my CNC table top for T-Tracks. I use "Toolpath Transform" function in Mastercam X4 to generate the G-code. The resulting G-code is shown below. It appears to be simple enough, but when I loaded it into Mach3, I get a weird toolpath display with cuts 3 & 4, which use G57 & G58, and cuts 10 & 12 which use G59 P4 & G59 P5 (see attached photo). All other offsets (i.e., G54, G55, G56, ... ) are displayed correctly.

    This occurs even with I delete the other cuts except G57 & G58. The same weird display occurs.

    What am I doing wrong? What is causing this weird display?

    G-CODE:
    %
    O0000(TABLE SLOT)

    (SETUP)
    N100 G17 G20 G90 G40 G80 G64 G49 G0 M05
    N110 G8 P1
    N120 G90 M05 Z0
    N130 G52 X0. Y0. Z0.
    N140 T1 M6
    N150 S18000 M3
    N155 G43 H2 Z.25

    (1ST CUT)
    N160 G0 G90 G54 X.625 Y.25
    N170 G0 G54
    N180 M98 P0001

    (2ND CUT)
    N190 G90 G55 X9.35 Y.25 Z.25
    N200 G0 G55
    N210 M98 P0001

    (3RD CUT)
    N220 G90 G56 X18.075 Y.25 Z.25
    N230 G0 G56
    N240 M98 P0001

    (4TH CUT)
    N250 G90 G57 X26.8 Y.25 Z.25
    N260 G0 G57
    N270 M98 P0001

    (5TH CUT)
    N280 G90 G58 X35.525 Y.25 Z.25
    N290 G0 G58
    N300 M98 P0001

    (6TH CUT)
    N310 G90 G59 X44.25 Y.25 Z.25
    N320 G0 G59
    N330 M98 P0001

    (RAP UP)
    N340 G90 G49 Z0. M05
    N350 G52 X0. Y0. Z0.
    N360 G8 P0
    N370 G17
    N380 M30

    (SUBROUTINE)
    O0001
    N100 G91
    N110 G1 Z-.69 F500.
    N120 Y48.5
    N130 X-.225
    N140 Y-48.5
    N150 X.225
    N160 Z.69 F100.
    N170 M99
    %

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35538
    First, are you aware that G59 P4 = G57 and G59 P5=G58?
    P1-P6 are G54-G59.
    If you want to use additional offsets beyond G59, start at G59 P7.

    As for the display issues. Mach3 has always had some bugs in the toolpath display when using offsets. In these cases the machine should cut correctly even though the display is wrong.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    62

    Same Problem

    Thanks for the information regarding P1-P6 for G59. I had forgotten that.

    NEW TEST CODE:
    So, to test a possible solution, I wrote a simpler G-code (see below) for 10 offset cuts. These are well within my soft limits just to make sure that was not causing Mach3 any problems. I also used the G59 P7 and up after reaching G58.

    CNC TABLE RESULTS:
    When I took the code out to the CNC machine, the machine followed exactly what was being displayed in Mach3 – the weird display and cutout not what I wanted. In fact, the Mach3 on the machine computer displayed a completed different weird toolpath. So, each Mach3 software (although the exact same version R3.043.022) displayed a completely different weird toolpath for the exact same g-code. And the machine followed that weird toolpath exactly.

    CONCLUSION SO FAR:
    The only thing I can think of is that Mach3 has a bug regarding offsets. Now that hard for me to believe since it has been around a long time, and I am sure others users have used offsets many times and don't have this weird problem. So I am thinking I got something screwed up, and I am out of ideas. So any help or hints would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Mike

    SAMPLE G-CODE:
    %
    O0000(Z)
    (DATE=DD-MM-YY - 16-06-13 TIME=HH:MM - 11:21)
    (MCX FILE - C:\MASTERCAMX4\Z.MCX)
    (NC FILE - C:\MASTERCAMX4\Z.NC)
    (MATERIAL - WOOD INCH)
    ( T1 | 1/2 STRAIGHT BIT | H0 )

    (**** SET UP ****)
    N100 G17 G20 G90 G40 G80 G64 G49 G0 M05
    N110 G8 P1
    N120 G90 M05 Z0
    N130 G52 X0. Y0. Z0.
    N140 T1 M6
    N150 S18000 M3
    N160 G43 H0 Z.25

    (**** CUT 1 ****)
    N170 G0 G90 G54 X5.75 Y5.25 C0.
    N180 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 2 ****)
    N190 G90 G55 X7.25 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N200 G55
    N210 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 3 ****)
    N220 G90 G56 X8.75 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N230 G56
    N240 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 4 ****)
    N250 G90 G57 X10.25 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N260 G57
    N270 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 5 ****)
    N280 G90 G58 X11.75 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N290 G58
    N300 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 6 ****)
    N310 G90 G59 X13.25 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N320 G59
    N330 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 7 ****)
    N340 G90 G59 P7 X14.75 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N350 G59 P7
    N360 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 8 ****)
    N370 G90 G59 P8 X16.25 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N380 G59 P8
    N390 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 9 ****)
    N400 G90 G59 P9 X17.75 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N410 G59 P9
    N420 M98 P0001

    (**** CUT 10 ****)
    N430 G90 G59 P10 X19.25 Y5.25 Z.25 C0.
    N440 G59 P10
    N450 M98 P0001

    (**** RAP UP ****)
    N460 G90 G49 Z0. M05
    N470 G52 X0. Y0. Z0.
    N480 G8 P0
    N490 G17
    N500 M30

    (**** SUBROUTINE ****)
    O0001
    N100 G91
    N110 Z-.15
    N120 G1 Z-.54 F25.
    N130 X.225 F50.
    N140 Y4.5
    N150 X-.225
    N160 Y-4.5
    N170 Z.1 F100.
    N180 G0 Z.59
    N190 M99
    %
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Weird Toolpath Display.png  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    62
    FOUND SOLUTION. I had not zero the Offsets in the Offset Table in Mach3. I clicked on the "Offset" tab, clicked on "Save Work Offset" button, and put zeros in all the entries in the table. Now, everything works perfectly. Both copies of my Mach3 software had different numbers in this table, which is why I was getting weird displays and machine toolpaths. Hope this helps someone new to Mach3 Offsets.

    Again, thanks for helping me.
    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Tool Offsets and Z position display in hand jog
    By aadrew10 in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-01-2017, 01:11 PM
  2. Weird Mach3 error- slowing to a crawl at end
    By Datamancer in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2012, 11:47 PM
  3. Fanuc 18t weird tool offsets, Hwacheon lathe
    By mcshaner2k in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 10:24 PM
  4. weird things with display
    By johnscnc in forum SheetCam
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 05:55 AM
  5. Mach3 weird behaviour
    By mrpeja in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2009, 05:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •