586,051 active members*
3,721 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New CRP4848 Build from Central Texas

Hey folks,

I am starting my first CNC project and though this will most likely not be a detailed build thread, I will try to post some pics from time to time. I am building a CRP4848 with upgraded rack and pinion using nema 23 electronics and a Gecko 540. Basically, I bought everything from CNC Router Parts since I did not want to run around sourcing things myself. I just need a machine to work and need it quickly!

I choose to build my own base rather than buy their leg kit so I got started on it yesterday. I wanted heavy and something that had a lot less natural wood movement so I choose to use LVL's (laminated veneer lumber). I was a custom home builder for 18 years and use a lot of LVL's in structural applications so I know very well what they are capable of. LVL's also have less movement due to changes in humidity of any wood product I am aware of. That seemed important for a precision machine!

I started with 1.75" x 14" LVL's and ripped them to 6 7/8" wide. I jointed them on the jointer and planed them to get them nice and smooth. For the legs, I used some 1.75" x 12" LVL ripped in half. I then glued 3 together to make a roughly 5"x5" leg. I decided to build the base fairly short compared to some of the machines I see on here since I will be handling 4x4 sheet of up to 3/4" acrylic and did not see any point in lifting it any higher than I had to! I may regret making low. The legs are 28" and once I put the 3/4" MDF on it and add my extrusions, my bed should be around 34" off the floor.

Anyway, here are some pics of my progress thus far.

Here is the glue up of the legs:
    Attachment 188668

Attachment 188670

Legs all glued up:
    Attachment 188672

The outer band of the base all shimmed level, squared up, glued and screwed:
    Attachment 188674