586,121 active members*
3,643 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > HAAS TL-1 vs Southwestern Industries TRL-1630SX

HAAS TL-1 vs Southwestern Industries TRL-1630SX

Hi everyone, this is my first post here!

I'm new to the CNC world, but I am in the market for a CNC/Manual lathe.
    I'm a technical mechanical engineer with manual machine experience.

I think I've narrowed my field to:
    HAAS Tool Room Lathe, model TL-1
    http://www.haascnc.com/details_LATHE...LatheTreeModel
    Southwestern Industries model TRL-1630SX
    http://www.southwesternindustries.co..._lathes1.shtml

Their costs are about the same, 30K with all the options.

My requirements are:
    Ones and twos, never more than 25.
    Somewhat complex contours, tapers, radii and 1/4 ellipticals
    Threads: AN, NPT, straight
    8" OD max, 12" length max
    ID and OD work

8" OD Aluminum
    4" OD 300 series stainless steel
    various carbon steel sizes

Here are some of the features for each:

HAAS TL-1
    Massive frame, 4100 lbs net
    Large footprint
    Name brand
    Clean G-code operation
    Single phase power option
    Mechanically linked hand wheels (good feedback)
    Coolant splash complaints
    Somewhat intimidating control panel

Southwestern Industries TRL 1630SX
    Small footprint and weight, 2200 lbs net
    Modern, powerful computer control system
    Fly-by-wire hand wheels
    3 Phase power only (need converter)

There are many others of course, but those come to mind.

I'm really stuck as to which machine would be best for me. They are very different in some ways, but not in many.

What are your thoughts and suggestions?

Thanks a bunch!
    TurboDiesel