586,082 active members*
3,518 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Other Machines > PCB milling > Need advice on buying first CNC machine for milling

Need advice on buying first CNC machine for milling

Hello everybody, my name is James and I am an electrical engineer (just graduated). In my free time I like to mess around with homebrew electronic projects and have come to the point where I need a method of making my own custom PCBs.

I have tried different methods before (etching using UV-radiation, toner heat transfer) but I would like to get into PCB milling. I have zero experience with milling so I am asking for some advice here. I'll try to summarize my requirements:

- 200mm x 200mm working size (smaller also OK if needed)
    - single sided PCBs
    - accurate enough for regular trough-hole parts and SMDs (if possible a pitch for TSOPs, but no need for QFNs)
    - price tag < 500€/650$
    - if possible I should be able to cut plastic for front panels

I would like to know if it is possible to find something based on these requirements and what you would recommend a beginner like me. If you think my price tag is too low, please tell me what ammount you had in mind. I would also like to say that the building of the CNC machine itself is also like a fun project to me and I am willing to invest a lot of time. Let's say that I would rather invest more time than more money. I know this is a question that probably has been asked a million times before but I would appreciate any advice you can give me because this is a major purchase for me.

Thank you in advance for any help!