586,104 active members*
3,310 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Geomagic Design discounts?

I am using Solid Edge but have not paid maintenance for a couple of years and it is too expensive so I am looking at switching to Geomagic Design. It will be lower cost than paying for the years of back maintenance. What a ripoff: why should I pay for maintenance when I have not used it?
    Anyhow, any suggested discounts or lower cost than the $2400 on the website?
    TIA,
    Bertho

I can do a little better than that. I'm just getting started as a Geomagic Design reseller, so the products aren't on my site yet, but I believe in giving people discounts.

Andrew Werby
    www.computersculpture.com

If you are thinking of going from a full featured program like SolidEdge down to Geomagic, I think you'll be in for a bumpy ride. I made that move about a year ago and at first everything seemed peachy. But then the more I got into the functionality of the program, and had to go back and edit my earlier designs for newer projects, I began hitting brick walls of dysfunctionality. Small edits that would take a few minutes in SolidWorks or SolidEdge would wind up taking me hours in Alibre. After long discussions with the guys in tech support, they came to the conclusion that I would generally be better off just re-designing my parts rather than trying to edit them to make small geometry changes. "Alibre simply isn't capable of doing that" they said.