586,364 active members*
3,157 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Laser Engraving and Cutting Machines > Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine General Topics > charred areas after cutting 5mm bamboo plywood,please help!,

charred areas after cutting 5mm bamboo plywood,please help!,

Hi,

I am new to using bamboo plywood-- see attached images,

Attachment 195880

Attachment 195882

does anyone with knowledge about bamboo plywood know what the cause may be?,and how to prevent it?,

bamboo goes through a unique process to become plywood,gluing with the grain with the stalks laid out side by side,

I have heard of the possibility of there being air pockets which I thought was the problem at first

but then unlike with the rest of the cut area,the laser did not go through to the reverse over the charred areas!,

so now I'm thinking the charred areas are where the wood is harder for some reason and as I had the power up high at

low speed this result occurred,

thanks in advance,

Graham,

Hiya Graham,

That's fill splash, it happens on regular plywood where voids are filled with a resin based filler (that is almost impossible to cut). The beam burns through the surface wood then hits a "hard spot" in the core with the pictured result.

No way round it sadly other than buying high grade materials and even then few if any suppliers rate the core of ply.

cheers

Dave

Dave,

thanks for your reply, it's good to know what was happening,

Graham,

that's solved it was the focal length. some material need to have for cutting a different focal length as the lens normally has. in this case it is 49.3mm instead of 50.8mm
    greetings
    waltfl

Yes Walt is right,
    it turned out to be simply that the bamboo was too far from the laser,
    Graham,

there was more to the problem;

warning for anyone who also has this nozzle;

Attachment 196364

Attachment 196366