586,051 active members*
3,748 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Stepper motor - how many mm per one rotation

Stepper motor - how many mm per one rotation

Hy everybody!

I am new at this and I am having problems calculating how many milimetars does my stepper motor do per one rotation. My stepper motor is PM55L-048, and the number of steps per rotation is 48 (7.5 deg). Do I need information for my ball screw? Thanks for your help in advance.

Please search, this has been covered 1000's of times.

You need to know the # of microsteps for your driver

the steps per rev of your motor (48)

and the pitch of your screw (mm/turn)

I can help you out, I just need to know how the motor is coupled.

Jade York
    888-939-7250
    Servo Motors and Electronics - Buy or Repair | Repair Zone

OK, here's the formula...

First, figure out how many step pulses you need to turn your motor one full turn. The base number here is the number of steps per revolution (in your case, 48) but unless you are using a very simple driver, the number will be modified by your driver, which will do fractional steps.

A 'typical" mid-sized stepper will do 200 full steps per revolution (1.8 degrees per step) but if you drive that from say, a common Gecko 201 at 10 microsteps, then it will take 2000 steps into the driver to do one full motor revolution.

If you don't know the details of your motor and drive, you can find this experimentally, by making your motor go 10 full turns. You issue a specific number of pulses (say, 20,000) and figure out how many motor turns this gave you, adjusting the number till you get ten full revolutions (then, of course, divide by 10).

This should be an even multiple of the native step count of the motor. Typical values are 1x, 2x, 4x, 8x or 10x.

It's not going to be something odd like 5.678x. If you get a number like that, (and you don't have a gearmotor) you did something wrong.