586,106 active members*
3,206 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Newbie's first CNC

Hi everyone,

newbie here, looking to build my first CNC.

I am looking to build a machine that will only have to cut: thin foam (depron, insulation foam, anywhere from 1mm to 2 inches) and thin woods (ply and balsa, less than 1/4" thick). I would also like to be able to cut very thin fiber glass sheet (less than 1/16") and carbon fiber sheet (maximum 2mm thick).

I have been looking at rail available from OpenBuilds Part Store and have been thinking of using NEMA 23 stepper motor electronics kit from NEMA 23 CNC Router Stepper Motor kit (option #3 on that page). Is it necessary to use 4 steppers (2 on the X-axis)? Or for such light materials is only one motor on the X required?

I want to make a 2x4 foot Cnc. I was thinking of using 20x40mm rail for all axis and using a pulley system using timing belts. It will be a lightweight system.

Will a small router (porter cable or dremel) suffice as my cutting tool? This machine will not have to cut metals or woods that exceed 1/4" thick.

Will this setup be able run a lightweight CNC that will fulfill my needs? I am a complete newbie to CNC so it would not surprise me if I am completely wrong about this...

Do you guys have any recommendation for kits or plans that I should take a look at?

Thanks for the help!

The main question, is, what is your budget?

CNC Router Parts has some good kits at fair prices.

CRP2448 2' x 4' CNC Router Kit | CNCRouterParts
    PRO4824 4' x 2' CNC Router Kit | CNCRouterParts

These are not lightweight machines. But, building a lightweight machine doesn't work too well when you get over 2ft in length. The bigger the machine gets, the stronger and more rigid it needs to be to give good performance.

A heavier machine will let you cut your parts much faster, with better quality cuts, and will allow you to cut materials you couldn't consider with a lightweight machine.