586,108 active members*
2,967 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Business Practices > Business Practices / Pricing > Adding machine shop to existing business

Adding machine shop to existing business

I am a co owner of a engineering and design firm here in Houston. In the past we out sourced most machine work (We have a SLA so we did printed stuff in house). We now occupy a bigger building that has a large shop (loading dock, large bay doors, 3phase power, coated flooring, etc, etc) this coupled with our growing work volume makes it worth while to set up our own shop.

I have some experience with CNC. I am a EE by trade, am well versed in SW, and AutoCAD as well as Camworks. I've had a higher end production CNC (servo) router in my garage shop for about 8 years (for making PCBs and other fun things) as well as a manual mill and lathe so I understand the process of machining (to some extent). But going from small hobby garage stuff to large scale big boy machinery has me spooked. I have no idea what I need besides the machines.

To that end, after quite a bit of shopping and research I ended up purchasing two new machines from Haas, a TM-1P (with 4th) and a TL-2 (with enclosure).
    I like the idea of have a dual purpose lathe. Both machines should work fine for our prototyping and low volume production needs. I have the room to add production machinery as we grow but I think this is a good start. I've got about 7 weeks before the machines get here to set up the shop and this is where I am lost. So I've got the machines now I need to tool up and I need help on this. Here is my very basic list now:

I know Ill need a decent collet set, a tool sharpener/griner. GP tooling, I would like to use insert tooling as much as I can. Renishaw tool setter and probe for sure. Air compressor, tool storage or drawer sets. A manual mill/drill with rotary table/indexer. A few work tables.