586,112 active members*
2,999 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > Cheap Integrated Servo Motor?

Cheap Integrated Servo Motor?

First of all I apologize if this post seems a bit out of place here. I am a fresh newbie to the CNCZone forum which is probably quite obvious from my number of posts. While the HUGE number of sub-forums here give me a lot of options it also confuses me tremendously

Anyway, I have been reading some of the build threads here for a couple of days now. Many of the projects look interesting to make me want to try a similar build. However right now due to lack of time I need to have a quick solution for a personal project involving precise movements in 3D. I have been looking around for integrated DC servo motors for this application but most of them are much more expensive than if you do-it-yourself. So the question I have is if and where I can buy a cheap integrated servo motor that:

- operates under 12-24V and ~100W
    - provides a maximal torque no less than 140 oz-in
    - Preferably able to work continuously at 6000 RPM and maximal torque

Any input is appreciated! Thanks!

Cost and Selection of servo components, kind of depends on the type of programming and control your planning on using, for motion

When you say “integrated” do you mean as a complete system electronically ?
    Rockcliff Machine Inc.
    http://www.rockcliffmachine.com

I think you better do some math. 140 oz/in at 6000 rpm is a heck of a lot more than 100 W...

As an example, the BM130 on this page comes pretty close to what you are asking for: BM Brushless Rotary Motors

It is rated ~140 oz/in continuous but at only 4000 rpm. Even at that it is drawing 300+ W. And that is not a cheap motor...