586,664 active members*
5,403 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Dual Spindle CNC Router Build

Hello all,

After spending quite a few hours lurking and researching CNC routers decided to take the plunge and start building my own. I have been working on the design for a couple of weeks and these are the specs of the machine I am planning on building. I am a mechanical engineer in training and have some experience designing the mechanical parts of numerically controlled machines. This is my first personal CNC build and first exposure to the electrical/software side of the CNC world.

Specs:

X Travel: ~48"
    Y Travel: ~30" for both spindles
    Z Travel: ~4 1/2"
    Frame: 80/20 Aluminum
    Desired Rapids: 400 ipm or greater
    Desired cutting speed (plywood w/ 1/2" bit at 1/2D): 200 ipm or greater
    Spindle 1: Porter Cable 890
    Spindle 2: Bosch Colt
    Linear Motion: Ball screws w/ 10mm lead from Linearmotion2008
    Linear Guides: Supported Rails from Linearmotion2008
    Motors X & Y: Stepper 1200oz-in from Automatedtechnology
    Motors Z: Stepper 570 oz-in from Automatedtechnology
    Drivers: 203V Gecko
    BOB: PMDX-126 w/ Ethernet smooth stepper
    PSU: KL-7220 72V 20 Amp

I think that covers most of the highlights at this point. The main use of the machine is for routering kitchen cabinets. Right now we are using a router table which consumes quite a bit of time for each setup. We are using jigs for the holes for adjustable shelves, roller mounting, and hinge mounting. This will hopefully take all of that and combine it into 1 operation, hence the dual spindle.

I will post some pictures of my design tonight.

Cheers.

You don't want 1200 oz steppers. 460oz Nema 34 motors will probably be at least twice as fast as the 1200 oz motors.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints