586,035 active members*
3,768 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Connect limit switches to G540 Estop?

Connect limit switches to G540 Estop?

On a miller, I am installing separate hall-effect home (1 per axis) and mechanical limit switches (2 per axis).

I have the G540 controller and UC100 motion controller, so limited inputs are available.

In this configuration, the limit switches should never be actuated under normal conditions, so I was thinking of connecting them in one NC loop to the G540 Estop input, together with the Estop button.

I will then connect the home switches to other input(s), possibly using one input per axis.

An advantage is that if the limits are tripped, the G540 will halt the machine, without the intervention of the controlling computer. A disadvantage is that such a stop will be interpreted as an Estop by the controlling software (Mach3 in my case).

But I'm very new to this. Is there anything "wrong" with this approach?

taipan,

By any chance are you my friend from way back who gave me so much help with the FPGA programming for the G100? You have a very similar user name so I'm curious.

Sorry, must be a different taipan.

Coincidentally, I have done a bit of FPGA work in my time!

taipan,

I see nothing wrong with your limit switch scheme. Why shouldn't it trip an e-stop in Mach3? The limit switches should never trip in normal operation; tripping a limit indicates something went seriously south on you.

On the FPGA thing: You write in VHDL or Verilog?

Hi Mariss,

Thanks. This setup seemed ok to me. However most people don't do it this way, probably because they use combined home/limit switches. But I am a complete CNC newbie, so I thought I may have overlooked something.