586,115 active members*
3,380 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Larger MDF Gantry Questions.

Hi

I am in the process of my build but just have a question about Y gantry. I have planned the machine using 120mm x 80mm Aluiminum Profiles. but due to the cost i will install them as a "upgrade" at a later stage. so i have designed MDF Parts to the same dimentions as the Aluiminum Profiles, but have a concern about the Y Beam. it will be 120mm x 80mm x 2000mm my concern is that the 2000mm span is to long and will Flex/bend to much.

Attachment 210250

i know the MDF beam is temp but would still like it to be as strong and as Flex free as possiable.

Regards Andrew

Much too thin in the cross section for that span. I'm no engineer, but I'd want at least 3X the cross section dimensions for a 2 meter span, and even that may be too little.

Luke
    "All I'm trying to find out is the fellow's name on first base" -- Lou Costello

So your saying my beam should be 360mm, 240mm x 2000mm?

if so that wont really work since the beam is ment to replaced by a aluiminum 120mm by 80mm profile.

anyother ideas on how to strenghen or mod then existing design to make it possiable to span that distance?

I don't think you're aluminum beam will be as stiff as you'd like at that length.

I'm building a 1700mm MDF gantry beam for my machine. I don't have the drawings here with me, but I believe it's about 125mm wide and 200mm tall. To hopefully increase stiffness, it's made from laminated 1/4" MDF. 4 layers on the vertical faces, and 3 layers on the top and bottom.
    It's going to carry two spindles, so I want it to be very rigid. I did some deflection calculations, and don't anticipate having more than .05mm deflection. However, my beam will extend past the gantry uprights, so only about 1300mm will be unsupported. Here are a few links.
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/cnc_wo...ml#post1162526

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/cnc_wo...ml#post1168468
    Gerry