586,052 active members*
4,400 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Machine Definition Parameters - Posting and Simulation
Page 1 of 5 123

Machine Definition Parameters - Posting and Simulation

I'm starting this thread as a place to discuss the nuances of the machine definition parameters and how those affect both the post processor system and the simulations. I think this is a complicated thing to understand well enough to take full advantage of, so probably a good thing to learn more in depth. I am not an expert, and figure I have more to learn than to share, so these are some of the things I've found hard to grasp or difficult to discern what the correct way to configure these parameters really is.

I'll start with a couple of observations that I find a bit confusing and hopefully it will spur some conversation. First, I understand that the "Direction" setting for each axis in the machine definition is meant to provide a reference for whether the machine is moving the tool or the material. If the Direction setting for X and Y is -1, it is moving the material, if it is +1, it is moving the tool. The main issue I have encountered is that if I set up the machine definitions to match my actual machine, it changes the output of the post processor to something that doesn't work in some cases. I'll try to articulate what I think I'm running into, but it will probably be a bit confusing to read, so hopefully it makes sense. Here's a sketch of my machine for reference, if you are looking at it from the ceiling down toward the table surface: