586,061 active members*
4,308 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > CAM program for face / body shapes

CAM program for face / body shapes

Hello everyone,

I have been an Autocad user for years but I'm relatively new to CNC routing and CAM programs, and I would
    appreciate if you could give me some advice; I want to create human or animal faces/bodies either drawing them or from a jpg file
    to be taken to a CAM program and carved in wood using a cnc router, and make them look as real as possible, but I don’t know
    what Cam program to get for this purpose. I have access now to Vectric Aspire V.3, or VCarve Pro V.6, SolidWorks Premium 2012
    but before I spend time and money into any of these program, I would like to know if any of those is the right one. (As we know,
    they can be pricey). Is there any program for this purpose that won’t be too costly and practical besides the ones mentioned? I have
    included 2 links to give you an idea of what I am trying to achieve in finish and looks. (In link #1, disregard the nudity at the beginning)
    The following CNC router would be in my budget: CNC Shark Pro plus Routing System, do you think it would be good enough
    for my purpose?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Usinando Relevos - CNC Router Metallab - YouTube
    cara - YouTube

To make these shapes you need a 3D CAD package but not Solidworks ..this is engineering software and is pretty useless for these organic shapes. 3D Studio Max is more geared towards this sort of thing and I've heard Blender is good. They output mesh models that can give some CAM software problems when importing as it uses a lot of memory. MeshCAM would be a good option.