586,058 active members*
4,323 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Stepper Motor Control Board Advice/Insight

Stepper Motor Control Board Advice/Insight

All,

This is really my first time writing to a forum, so feel free to let me know if this post is in the wrong category!

I am a senior Electrical Engineering student and am headed into a doctorate program. My senior project was 3 axis stepper motor control using a Probotix V90 setup. The purpose of this post is to inquire for advice for a motion control board/motor driver.

I would like to extend my senior project into a usable/marketable product. With the advancements in DIY CNC machines and drive systems I have seen a problem. In order to get professional speed and accuracy one needs a motion control board in order to get accurate timing. As I see it the standard way of getting a "quality" drive setup for a CNC machine that is "cheap" is:

Computer -> motion control board -> isolation board, produce step pulse and direction -> motor drivers -> motors

To me this seems a little bit much. I understand that there are all together packages offered, but most of them are rather expensive. Having gone through the design process of taking care of all of these things on a single board it is possible to offer such a product at a cheaper price.

My question is this, would the DIY CNC hobbyist community like to see an all in one package that is both robust and cheap? And if so what features would you like to see in such a product?

Thanks!
    Lance

There are really two different hobby communities as I see it. It sounds like your target would be the "maker" crowd, who typically build poor performing, low cost, poor performing machines.