587,072 active members*
3,124 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Milling Dollhouse Cladboard

I have been asked by my wife to produce some wall material for her dollhouse. It is going to be made from 3/8 MDF with horizontal milled grooves to look like wood siding. The question is do I make multiple passes with a small cutter OR adjust the angle of the router in the gantry? A 5 or 10 degree tilt will allow each "board" to be milled in one pass with a larger bit.

I am new to this. My table is ready to go but I am waiting on the controller and stepper motors from CNCResource.

SpookyDad

If you are going to make one entire wall of siding vs. one board at a time, I would tilt the router. If the cut is too much for your router to handle with a larger cutter in one pass, make multiple passes bringing the router down a little more each time.
    If it's not nailed down, it's mine.
    If I can pry it loose, it's not nailed down.

SpookyDad,

It is going to be made from 3/8 MDF
    What source are you using for the 3/8" MDF? Lowe's only seems to carry 3/4". Home Depot has 3/4" & 1/2" for sure. I think HD also carries 1/4" in the smaller 2' x 4' panels. I don't remember seeing any 3/8" MDF, though.

Any pics of your wife's dollhouse(s)?

HayTay
    HayTay

Don't be the one that stands in the way of your success!

Source for 3/8" MDF

You are not going to find 3/8" MDF at your traditional retail outlets. I found a wholesaler, Dixie Plywood, here in Houston that carries it. You are going to have to find a cabinetmaker's supply outlet. It is available, you just have to look a little harder.

Milling Dollhouse cladboard

I am making full walls, not individual planks. Since it is 1/12 scale, the amount of material removed for each "plank" is fairly small. So a single pass should suffice. I am using a Porter Cable 1.5 HP router.