586,055 active members*
4,395 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

Which CAD Software For Me?

hi all,
    i am looking to buy some CAD software. i am only a hobbyist but some of my stuff may turn into a production run. i saw some SolidWorks videos and that's some cool software, i really like the Animation module.

I dont really need CAM because i dont have any CNC machines currently, i might build a CNC plasma table in the future.

i used Rhino 3D in the past but never became fluent with that software.

i am a quick learner. SolidWorks (which i dont know they give any discount for hobby use) is a tad too complex and too much $$ for my use. i can however spend a few hundred $$ for some good CAD software.

any suggestions?

Quote Originally Posted by CNC_Kid View Post
    any suggestions?
    Lots and lots of options out there. You might want to start with 2d Cad to get your feet wet. MOST newbies will end up doing CNC work that is generally not 3d anyhow, so drawing it in 3d is not something that is necessary to do.

You'll find a lot of people recommend Draftsight.... I happen to like Autosketch over that, but be aware, Autosketch's days are numbered. Autosketch was a program that Autodesk purchased from someone else which always led me to believe they just wanted to obtain it in order to keep people in their family of products. I also think that they slowed down development on it because it actually was an easier to use product than their Autocad Lite version.

If you want both the 2d and 3d worlds but found Rhino a touch much to understand, Jump into ViaCad V8. Many many years ago when I could not afford much, I started with a program that Ashlar had released called DrawingBoard. It used the same drawing tools that were in Ashlars main programs and far, FAR advanced over anything else out there.