586,076 active members*
3,873 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > a tip for us newbies so we don't have to change offest everytime we change tools

a tip for us newbies so we don't have to change offest everytime we change tools

I am still fairly new to cnc milling as a hobby. I don't have a lot of tool holders that will allow me to set my offsets before I start running my program and not have to reset it each time I change out a tool.

So I thought the other day, about buying shaft collars to use on my cutters. The collars have a set screw to tighten down on your cutters so it don't move. These collars come in all different sizes, and if you have an oddball size tool you can buy a smaller one and drill it out to the needed size. So using one of the collars like what is shown in the link below, I can set all my offsets at once, then run my parts with out having to do it again. This way you don't have to have a collet or tool holder for every tool you use alot.

Shafting Collars, Couplings & Locking Assemblies | Collars | Set Screw Collar, 3/8 " Bore, GSC-037-SS | B262996 - GlobalIndustrial.com

David

Best Money I Ever Spent 2010 Screenset and Touch Probe

David,

I use one of these CNC4PC set up as a tool setting probe and 2010 screenset for Mach3 The CNC Woodworker - Mach3 2010 . Gerry (developed 2010 screen set) was able to change a macro for me so I can run it in the following way;

I find X0 and Y0 (a corner of the part typically) then find Z0 by bringing my 1st tool to the top of my raw material (clamped in a vise or to the table) and use a thin (.0015") shim between the tool and raw material and set this as Z0. Remove the shim and adjust the tool down .0015” to actual Z0 then I set the Z0 in Mach3 for whatever offset I’m using (generally I use G56). X0, Y0, Z0 are now set.