587,076 active members*
3,094 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

Routing deep pockets in hardwood

Hi all!

I'm new to the whole CNC thing. I've been building guitars as a hobby for years, then I came across a CNC machine on craigslist for pretty cheap, so I bought it with the hope of building a few guitar bodies with all this new fangled computer technology. It's a Zenbot 1624 -- 16"x24" HDPE construction, unsupported X-axis on gantry, Gecko G540, 2.5 Amp 0.9deg NEMA 23 motors (270 oz) with a toothed pulley system for linear movement, 19v 6A power supply.

It seems to work alright for MDF and most of my shallow hardwood cuts, but things get iffy from there. Whenever I get to a pocket that's more than about 3/4" deep, the bit is prone to digging into the side of the pocket and pulling into the wood. I've tried various depths and speeds (1/2" depth to 1/16" depth; 60IPM down to 10IPM), but it's always the same: the bit digs into the sidewall of the pocket, pulling the spindle down and further into the sidewall of the pocket until I smack the E-Stop or the router jams. I can usually hear when it's about to have a problem as the bit sounds like its bogging down and chattering (There's usually a few wavy scallop marks on the sidewall just before the bit goes for a dive). Also, it seems that curves that use both X and Y axes at the same time is where it really has trouble -- straight cuts along either axis in the deep pockets don't seem to be a bother, but when the X and Y start turning at the same time, that's when things get dicey.

I'm using:

Hitachi M12VC router
    2 flute 1/2" diameter, 1.5" LOC, 3.5" OAL spiral endmill
    conventional milling path, 3D contour roughing with parallel finish
    Gecko G540 controller
    Mach3 with supplied .xml on a Windows XP desktop
    Zenbot 1624
    Clamping via woodscrews into spoilboard, which is bolted to table
    Shopvac for dust/chip control