586,103 active members*
3,630 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Is CNC for me?

Hello,

I have a Sieg X1 mill which I have converted to CNC, and have been using for a few years now. The problem is that I seem to be spending a disproportionate amount of time making it work, instead of actually making things. The things that I do make are typically one-off jobs, and rarely have complex shapes etc. (Eg a lathe tool holder for my QC toolpost)

Since I have no background in manual machining, I think things may be actually more difficult for me, due to lack of knowledge and experience.

For these reasons, I am considering un-cnc-ing my machine and using it manually for a while. Possibly with the convenience of a dro added to it.

I would really appreciate some opinions from you guys on this matter.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Memran View Post
    Hello,

I have a Sieg X1 mill which I have converted to CNC, and have been using for a few years now. The problem is that I seem to be spending a disproportionate amount of time making it work, instead of actually making things. The things that I do make are typically one-off jobs, and rarely have complex shapes etc. (Eg a lathe tool holder for my QC toolpost)

Since I have no background in manual machining, I think things may be actually more difficult for me, due to lack of knowledge and experience.

For these reasons, I am considering un-cnc-ing my machine and using it manually for a while. Possibly with the convenience of a dro added to it.

I would really appreciate some opinions from you guys on this matter.

Thanks!

Why not just add a MPG pendant and use the Mach3 DRO?
    Several are available on eBay for reasonable money (less than a month's worth of English muffins or crumpets).

JoeyB
    A doughnut a day keeps the doctor away.

That's a pretty good idea!
    I guess one drawback is the lack of feeling I'd get from a manual handwheel, but good thinking, batman!