586,103 active members*
3,703 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

DIY cnc router kits

Hello all. I'm a designer/sculptor who's primary business is design/build of corporate, hospitality and hospital art. I'm looking for a large scale (5'x10') DIY kit. The only ones I've found so far are the Green Bull from Buildyourcnc.com and CNC Router Parts Pro 4896 which I have been told I can get in a 5'x10'. Are there any others that I'm just not finding? Does anyone here have any experience with either of the kits I've listed? The frame from CNC RP looks sexier, but the Green Bull kits seems to be a more complete kit.

I've noticed neither kit offers a vacuum table set up. I could build my own, but from lookong around this forum some it seems most of you are not using a vacuum system? Other than cost is there a reason for this?

I have a good deal of experience using a Multi Cam 3000 series machine as well as a Limac 3000 series machine(not a bad machine as long as you don't need parts or customer service).

I would use it to cut plywwod, mdf, plastics, acrylic and aluminum up to 0.125"(so I would like to add a misting system). I'm not a high volume shop so I'm more interested in accuracy and repeatability over speed. I'm very mechanically competent so build difficulty is not an issue. I'm looking for a kit because I don't want to go thru the time and effort of rounding up all of the parts myself. I'm very busy right now and this month alone have outsourced enough cnc work to have already built something!

Thanks for your help, if there is already a thread discussing this could someone point me to it?

There's no comparison at all between those two. CNC ROUter Parts is far superior.