586,106 active members*
3,267 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

help with a new Chinese machine

So i've been looking at a Chinese machine for awhile now, getting prices from a lot of different cnc branches and so far always keep coming back to Quick Cnc they seem to me at my level of knowledge to be the best spec'ed for the money.
    so i have a few questions.

1. on a rotary axis if the diameter is say 240mm i can only odvousily fit material up to 240mm diameter round right... but could i say if the machine rotary axis only fits 240 dia still machine somthing 300mm round if the timber is 240 at the end where it goes in the chuck of the 240mm roatry axis ? makes sense to me but just wanted to check ?

2. should i just straight out get (if i can) Mach 3 ?

3. is it worth paying alittle extra to get the itailian spindle over the chinese ?

as i think of more questions i'll post them but thanks in advance to any help!

Hi there, I'm a UK agent for Quick CNC, happy to help

There are several factors to consider about a rotary axis, the combination of which will ultimately determine the maximum diameter of material you can use.
    Make sure that you have the gantry headroom/ spindle z axis depth available to cope with the diameter of material you need to mill.
    Watch out for your tool length, as this will reduce your available headroom. Also make sure that you have clearance to the bed on the rotary axis to accommodate your material.

For example: measuring from the center line of your rotary axis to the bed, let's say is 150mm. Then you could safely go to about 290mm in material diameter give or take.

Providing that:
    Your machine has a z axis height of at least 150mm between the center line of the rotary axis and the bottom of your end mill/ cutter.
    Your machine has a z axis travel of at least 155mm. I.E can plunge to the center line of your rotary axis.