586,075 active members*
4,167 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Inspection and Quality control of components produced on computer-controlled machines

Inspection and Quality control of components produced on computer-controlled machines

HI everyone

I am an engineering student and have received an "Inspection and Quality Control in CAM Systems" assignment. So am writing in the hope someone may be able to help me in answering some of the questions that I am having a little difficulty with.

I have researched and answered some of the required questions, but hope someone may be able to help me with the scenario and the remaining questions:

As a production technician, you are asked to examine methods of inspection and the quality control of components produced on computer-controlled machines. You are to report your findings to your manager and should cover the following aspects:-

1) Levels of inspection. e.g. tooling verification, datum and location checks, in-process measurement, post process inspection, qualitative data and attributes, statistical analysis, technical and management information.

2) Data capture e.g. tactile sensing, non-tactile sensing and data transmission features.

3) An explanation of the significance of adaptive control methods employed within CAM systems.

Any help or advice that you can offer with any of the questions, will be very much appreciated and will help me no end with my studies.

Thanks in advance :bat:

I'd answer but I don't wanna get my blood sucked out by no vampire thingy!

Tell us what you've got so far, Carla. Maybe someone will offer to throw in a comment.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

He, he, you liked my vampire/bat then. Do not worry, I have the vampire/bat well under control.