586,094 active members*
4,055 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Pneumatic Motion Bed Control

G'day guys,

I'm new to this forum, and this field, and it's almost not relevant but I thought you might have some wisdom or be able to point me in the right direction, please hear me out.

I am a university student studying avionics, we do a lot in control systems type stuff which brings me to my point.

I am working on a flight simulator that gets motion from a platform supported by three pneumatic actuators supplied by festo, run by three proportional control valves. This in turn is controlled by some basic software, not exactly custom set to run this sortof stuff called labview..

The major problems we are having is we have a basic PID control on each actuator, but this does not take into account the coupling of the actuators to each other through the motion platform and mass of the system (through moments of inertia), nor does it try to counter the pneumatic bounce of the system in any real way. As such the system suffers, and it is up to me to improve this performance through software coding, and modifications to the motion base (if possible).

Could any of you suggest any methods of combatting these problems?
    How is the bounce of a pneumatic system compensated for in CNC applications?
    etc..
    any info on pneumatics applications or where to find said info would be greatly helpful.

Thanks Heaps
    Scott.

I once saw a Festo pneumatic servo on a trade show. It was fast, precise and.... horizontal.

In the system you describe you have to deal with the low frequency response of the proportional valves and stick slip. The stick-slip will prevent your system from working. The error will grow and grow until the actuator starts to move. Then the error is to big and the result is overshoot. You will have to define these characteristics in your software, either with hard numbers or an averaging learning system.

Carel