586,096 active members*
3,687 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > Bobcad and Geomagic/Alibre Combination: Need Assistance...
Page 1 of 3 123

Bobcad and Geomagic/Alibre Combination: Need Assistance...

All,

I'm new to CNC (but have been doing manual mill/lathe work for decades) and just purchased BobCAD/CAM 4 Axis Standard version 26. I've also been using Alibre/Geomagic CAD for a couple years and am reasonably proficient with it.

I have a brand new CNC machine and am teaching myself how to use it. I viewed in-earnest all the 140+ training videos and found them very helpful. I've made a couple parts using BobCAD generated G-code but, I still seem to be struggling because all of the training videos use CAD files generated by their program.

Can anyone point me to information about what file types to export out of Alibre/Geomagic CAD when importing them into BobCAD? I can export to .stp. .stl, .igs and others. I get different results in working-up the CAM tree and some unusual toolpaths when using varying formats of input file. I know that some are for 2D and some are for 3D but I seem to be chasing my tail at times.

Are there any reference materials on this and in general are there any resources for folks using the combination of Alibre/Geomagic with BobCad?

Much thanks...

Ray

Pretty straight forward really, if you are doing simple 2D and 2.5D stuff then simple 2D .DXF files will be fine, you don`t say what machine you have bought but if it has a modern control with "Conversational" programming then you don`t need either your Alibre or BobCAD-CAM software for 2D and 2.5D machining

Some years ago I ran some HURCO CNC machines with Ultimax controls and never saw a G code for years at a time

For any 3D and 4th axis work then usually .STEP (.stp) and .IGES (.igs) will do the job for you.

Regards
    Rob
    :rainfro: :rainfro: :rainfro:

Rob / All,