586,103 active members*
3,651 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Mechanical Engineering > Linear and Rotary Motion > Dirt cheap Polyester PETP rods for Z axis???

Lightbulb Dirt cheap Polyester PETP rods for Z axis???

Hi all

Is there an engineer in the house who could confirm the suitability of this product as a dirt cheap alternative to hardened steel?

(http://www.smallparts.com.au/cgi-bin...earches=0=post)

Tensile strength is quoted as 90Mpa and hardness at 96 Rockwell M. Assumedly the Bearing Grade TX is the better suited material and still dirt cheap.

I am not an engineer but if it is sufficently stiff, hard and strong than all I would need would be linear bearings, mounting blocks and a lathe to machine it down to 16mm.

If a suitable alternative, it would answer many peole's needs to build within a tight budget.

Would there be wear issues of having a metal bearing and a plastic rod?

Am I onto something good here?

Andy
    Drat, imperfection has finally stopped working!!

I took a quick look at www.mcmaster.com searched "PET (Polyester) Rods" and I probably not use it. I note it has a higher Rockwell than you stated 117, but its ease of scratching might be the big drawback. Chips and all ya know.
    What about ripping into old printers/scanners/copiers for hardened rod and FREE price.
    :cheers: Jim
    Experience is the BEST Teacher. Is that why it usually arrives in a shower of sparks, flash of light, loud bang, a cloud of smoke, AND -- a BILL to pay? You usually get it -- just after you need it.

Sorry Andy, but as a typical tight budget wannabee, $7 Australian for 4 inches of plastic rod which I then need to turn to size, is a non-starter compared with picking up a scrap printer.
    Especially as, by definition, a wannabee, I wouldn't be able to access a lathe to turn it down anyway.

John
    It's like doing jigsaw puzzles in the dark.
    Enjoy today's problems, for tomorrow's may be worse.