586,121 active members*
3,691 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > 175 ground fault detected on 98 Haas VFE

175 ground fault detected on 98 Haas VFE

I recently purchased a '98 haas VFE. This is my first "real" cnc mill, I've been running a 3 axis DIY CNC grizzly mill for the last 7+ years and it was time to get something bigger. It was delivered a couple weeks ago to us by a CNC freight company. Trip was only about 30 miles. We had a CNC service company come in and level the machine and set everything up. Everything seemed to be working fine when the tech was here as well as when we initially inspected the mill prior to purchase. I've been learning the basics (turning machine on, loading tools, manual jog the axis', running chip auger, etc..) but I have not cut anything on it or even run a program yet. I was in the process of setting up tool offsets when I stepped away from the machine for about 30 mins and when I returned the alarm was on and the 175 ground fault detected message was on the display.

The machine has relatively low hours on it for the year. The commands window shows Power on time: 7037 hrs, Cycle Start Time: 1215 hours, Feed cutting time: 908 hours
    The guy we purchased the machine from said he replaced the tool changer shuttle motor a couple years ago.

Any ideas on where I should start looking for the cause of this ground fault? I opened up the back panel and there doesn't seem to be any fried components that I can see. Could a loose connection from transport cause this fault code?

Any help or insight would be much appreciated.

Re: 175 ground fault detected on 98 Haas VFE