586,061 active members*
4,308 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

3D Wire/rod bending setup

Greetings,

I'm trying to make a 3D wire bending machine, similar to the DIWire prototype which is explained in more detail in this instrucables page:
    DIWire Bender

Basically it uses 3 stepper motors, one to feed the wire, one to rotate a solenoid rod which does the actual bending, and one to rotate the plane of rotation (for 3D geometries). So, 3 stepper motors hooked up to drivers which in turn are hooked up to a psu and an arduino.

a few questions for now:
    -Would it be possible to power the drivers with a benchtop style PSU? I'm thinking it could come in handy to have a PSU with different voltage and current options for future use. Is there any serious technical reason NOT to use a benchtop/desktop PSU other than maybe things like size constraints etc.?

-Because I'm a student and my budget is somewhat limited I've been looking for cheaper stepper motor options. Found some considerably cheaper Chinese options, but I was wondering if anyone has had any particularly bad experiences with chinese made motors?

-One thing I want to add to this set up is a an extra motor/mechanism for cutting off the wire once the shape is bent. Wondering if anyone has developed an automated bolt cutting system or something along those lines? I figured a really straight forward approach would be to integrate a rigged bolt cutter in the set up and use a geared stepper motor...but that just seems like a very inelegant move...

I'm quite a noob at this, so any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot guys.

Cheers,

ben

Re: 3D Wire/rod bending setup

It would not necessarily be my first choice and a lot depends on the design of the PSU, you don't need a regulated supply for steppers or servo's, it is very simple to but a 3 component linear supply together, Transformer/bridge rectifier/capacitor.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design