506,301 active members
2,877 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26

    PICStep not working!

    Hi To All,

    I have had my CNC stored away for about a year and a half. I took it back out to continue working and found two axises not working. After doing all the testing of boards and circuitry, I came to the conclusion that new PIC16F628A were needed.

    Here's the current scenario:

    1. Of the 3 original chips, 1 still works. The other 2 dead.
    2. When I put the working chip into the other motor drivers the drivers function as they should.
    3. Purchased 3 new chips, burned them and verified the data.
    4. Placed new chips into the drivers and they don't step properly.
    5. Removed new chip from one driver and put the working old chip into driver, still works as it should.

    I never seen anything like this in my life. Does anyone out there have a clue what's going on here or have another procedure to detect problem?

    Thanks Crawford

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3746

    Re: PICStep not working!

    You have read the code and copied it? What about the eerom and configuration bits?
    It is quite possible the code loads preset information from eerom, and certainly the configuration bits need to be the same, else chip will function differently.
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26

    Re: PICStep not working!

    Hi neilw20,

    Yes I copied the code from good chip, but was not aware of chip configuration. I'll look more into it. I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination. Will give it a whirl. I get back to you.

    Thanks a lot
    Crawford

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    26

    Re: PICStep not working!

    Hi,

    If anyone can shed some light on the subject of chip programming, I might be able to solve my problem. After burning the chips again, using the Ozipicer programmer hardware and Oshunsoft programming software, I was able to burn a chip successfully. I need help programming it correctly. I now have motors that respond when toggled by vibrating with out completing a step in either direction. So my thinking is that I'm not burning the chip with the correct settings. Can someone help.?

    Thanks in advance
    Cpete

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3746

    Re: PICStep not working!

    I just us the Microchip programmer and MPLAB environment and all the following is taken care of for me.

    Your programming software needs to be able to read and write 3 areas.

    1. Program: 0x00 to 0x1F
    2. Configuration Register at 0x2007 - also in DS41196 below.
    3. EEPROM: go to microchip web site.
    For complete details of serial programming, please refer to “PIC16F627A/628A/648A EEPROM Memory Programming Specification”(DS41196).

    An algorithm needs to be used to read the EEPROM data from original chip. It is not memory mapped, to the outside world.

    If the following bits not stored in your setup file (usually a .hex - intel format file) then your programming won't be complete. All bits default to 1.

    Also..
    Additional information on the data EEPROM is available in the PIC
    Super X3. 3600rpm. Sheridan 6"x24" Lathe + more. Three ways to fix things: The right way, the other way, and maybe your way, which is possibly a faster wrong way.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    248

    Re: PICStep not working!

    This is what I did many moons ago

    By using the hex file I didn't have to worry about setting the config bits.

    How did you program your chips originally?
    I'll get it finished sometime after I start it.....

Similar Threads

  1. What is the difference between wood working and metal working routers?
    By LaughingJaguar in forum Joes CNC Model 2006
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-17-2016, 07:29 PM
  2. Picstep working but trouble interfacing to PC
    By gtrdude in forum PicStep Controllers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-30-2009, 03:28 PM
  3. To PicStep or not to PicStep!
    By Countryman in forum PicStep Controllers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 06:29 PM
  4. 5V for Picstep getting very hot !
    By max_imum2000 in forum PicStep Controllers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2007, 01:44 AM
  5. PicStep with USB
    By Cooper in forum PicStep Controllers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 07:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •