586,108 active members*
3,287 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Boring a 1-3/8" hole on a 5/8" thick 3"x3" cold rolled steel bar

Boring a 1-3/8" hole on a 5/8" thick 3"x3" cold rolled steel bar

Hi all,

Totally CNC newbie here, so please pardon my noob questions.

This is my first real job for the tormach 1100 i just bought. I'm building a tube bender and need to remake a tab. I did it first using a manual mill w/ 1-3/8" drill bit but now since I got the CNC i'd like to give it a try. Here is my job plan, please advise.

1. Fixture - machine vise holding with parallels.
    2. Locating - using probe to locate the surface and edges.
    3. coding - write a short gcode program by first using a center bit, then a pilot hole.
    here is my question

can I simply mill the hole with an end mill? if so do i still need to do the pilot hole? if the pilot hole is required, what's the recommend hole size?

or should I use a boring head instead? if so, how big that pilot hole should be? my biggest bit is 1/2" in the shop. i'd have to drive 10 miles to borrow my pal's 1-3/8" bit, which i think is too big for the tormach anyway. would boring head take a long time to do the job? the plate is 5/8" thick.

thanks!

Re: Boring a 1-3/8" hole on a 5/8" thick 3"x3" cold rolled steel bar

or should I just do it on the good ol' JET mill I did them the first time.

Drill a pilot hole, larger than the endmill you plan to use. Since it's steel, you'll probably need to go up in steps. Then interpolate to final size using a spiral toolpath, full depth, keeping a light radial engagement, so you can take advantage of radial chip thinning. You should be able to run 2400 RPM, 40IPM, full depth with 0.050" width of cut using a 1/2" HSS 4-flute endmill. You will need coolant, but it should not take long at all.