586,102 active members*
2,601 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Benchtop CNC Advice: LMS X2 Mini Mill Conversion or Taig Deepcut

Benchtop CNC Advice: LMS X2 Mini Mill Conversion or Taig Deepcut

Hey all, Total Newbie here,

I've got some machining experience from school and a former employer that let us use the machine shop for personal projects in off hours.. Now I'm looking to get my hands on a CNC and start working on a long list of hobby projects that's been building up since I changed jobs and therefore lost access to my former employer's machine shop. I'm looking for something under $3000. My projects range from plastic to steel,

So in short, I'm looking for as much Mill as I can get for $3000. (Top three priorities are the ability to mill steel, accuracy, and working volume).

I'm totally okay with buying a manual mill and a (mostly plug and play) conversion kit, but I'm mainly interested in getting the most flexible machine for my money.

Right now, I've narrowed it down to a Little Machine Shop solid column X2 conversion, similar to the one outlined here, or a Taig Deepcut.

With tooling and software licenses where applicable, they come out to about the same price, and like i said, since this is the precursor to hobby work, I don't mind putting in some elbow grease, I know the X2 has a larger work volume, and is more open to modification (A plus in my mind), but The Taig has a few nice features (integrated spindle speed control, etc.) So I'm having trouble making up my mind.

I guess I was wondering if anyone had any ideas about comparing these two approaches/products. Thanks.

Re: Benchtop CNC Advice: LMS X2 Mini Mill Conversion or Taig Deepcut

I think you could get into a G0704 for that price range.

Machine ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$1300
    conversion kit from arizonavideo ~~~ $600 (not sure if he has any at the moment)